Topics Topics

Latvia's Eurovision 'Supernova' ready to explode

The search for Latvia's competitor for this year's Eurovision reaches a climax this weekend with the final of national selection show, Supernova.

Viewers around the world will be able to follow the build-up to the final showdown on Sunday 22 February from 8pm Riga time (6pm GMT), with the actual crunch time beginning at 9.20pm Riga time (7.20pm GMT).

This year's selection process, which initially was criticised for its large cost but which has won over a large audience and provided fuel for millions of comments on social media over six weeks.

123 initial performers and groups were first whittled down to 56 hopefuls and then to 20 by an expert jury.

But the ultimate decision as to who will be Latvia's representative in Austria will be the public's alone with telephone votes deciding the outcome.

"Over the years, the habits of viewers have significantly changed," says Ilze Jansone, who has been in charge of the Supernova project.

"Increasingly, what we see on screen runs parallel to comments on social networks."

As a result, in addition to the main broadcast, viewers will also be able to watch an alternative stream featuring live comments in a more tongue-in-cheek manner to make sure Eurovision's reputation for glorious kitsch is served as well as straightforward musical excellence.

The four surviving competitors are: Aminata, Mntha, Markus Riva and ElektroFolk.

Supernova's dedicated website featuring videos of the performances is HERE (Latvian language).

You'll be able to watch the final live HERE.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue