New book to tell stories of first nine Prime Ministers

A new book to be launched next week will tell the stories of Latvia's first nine prime ministers from the pre-war period.

The years 1918-1940 are generally dominated by the presence of Karlis Ulmanis, who was a key figure in the independence movement and ultimately became dictator. But the stories of other Prime Ministers of the time are sometimes overlooked.

The new book, titled ""Nine man force. The stories of nine Prime Ministers 1918-1940" gives the Prime Ministers' biographies and their social and political positions as well as being supplemented by the comments of historians to provide context.

The book is edited by historian Gatis Krūmiņš.

During the 21 years of Latvia's first independence there were no fewer than 19 governments, headed by the nine men in question: Arturs Alberings, Ādolfs Bļodnieks, Hugo Celmiņš, Pēteris Juraševskis, Jānis Pauļuks, Zigfrīds Anna Meierovics, Marģers Skujenieks, Kārlis Ulmanis and Voldemārs Zāmuels.

the new history will be launched May 3 in Riga with current Prime Minister Maris Kucinskis in attendance.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles