MEP Kalniete to be presented with U.S. award

Take note – story published 5 years ago

Latvian Member of the European Parliament (MEP) and former foreign minister Sandra Kalniete will be awarded the Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom in the United States of America on November 14.

The award will take place at a gala dinner at the end of a conference in Washington, D.C. and will see Kalniete honored alongside former Lithuanian President Valdas Adamkus and Estonian MEP Tunne Kelam, according to the organizers of the event.

"In the 1980s, Europe’s Captive Nations led the dismantling of the Soviet Union, and are once again free, prosperous, and vital members of the Free World. Today, the past and future meet as the former bloodlands have become a testing ground for the West’s commitment to truth, freedom, and peace in the 21st century," says advance publicity material.

The Truman-Reagan Medal of Freedom is awarded each year by the Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation to individuals and institutions that have demonstrated a life-long commitment to freedom and democracy and opposition to communism and all other forms of tyranny.

The Victims of Communism Memorial Foundation is an educational and human rights nonprofit organization authorized by a unanimous Congressional Act in 1993.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important