Goethe Institut to explore German-Latvian translations in October

Fans of German and Latvian literature may be interested in a new cross-cultural project from the Goethe Institut in Rīga.

''Found in Translation'' is centered around books, writers, translators, publishers and also readers giving them a chance not only to familiarize themselves with translations of German literature into Latvian, but to learn more about the translation process itself, using examples from both contemporary and historical works. 

Over the last ten years about 300 translations of German fiction have been published in Latvia.
 
Found in Translation will involve translators, publishers and writers in a series of events, readings and discussions exploring the links between German and Latvian literature, which date back hundreds of years. Particular attention will be given to tracing what sort of contemporary German literature is likely to appeal to a Latvian audience and how translators try to satisfy that appetite.

You can learn more about the project and a diary of upcoming events throughout October linked to the initiative at the Goethe Institut website.

And if you'd like a few ideas for German books to read as the nights draw in, the Goethe Institut also has these handy suggestions to hand.

And if you want something to get you in the mood for a bit of Germanic bibliophilia, you still have a few days to visit the excellent Steffenhagens of Jelgava exhibition at the Latvian National Library.

Related articles
Literature
Culture