Coin of the year named

In news of interest of numismatists the world over, the Latvian Central Bank (LB) on Tuesday named its Coin of the Year.

Following a public opinion poll in which over 17,000 voters participated LB said the winner was the 5 euro collector coin 'Baroque of Courland', for which more than 4500 votes were cast.

The artists responsible for the coin received the traditional prize – the Coin of Latvia, a gold coin struck in gold in 2008, from the hands of Ilmārs Rimšēvičs, LB governor.

LB issues several special edition coins every year and they provide a useful extra source of revenue as they are snapped up by collectors. 

In 2014, 6 different collector coins were minted.

Since 2004 when Latvijas Banka launched such surveys, the following coins have won the Coin of the Year awards: Coin of Time, Baron Munchausen, Coin of Digits, Coin of Time II, Happy Coin, Coin of Water, Amber Coin, Fog Mists the Pane, the Silver 5-Lats Coin and the Baby Coin.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles
Most important

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue