Topics Topics

Iceland makes Latvia's travel 'white list'

The Disease Prevention and Control Center (SPKC) revised their guidelines November 27 regarding countries upon arrival from which self-isolation must be observed.

It is recommended to seriously evaluate the need to go abroad in order not to increase risks of contracting COVID-19.




167.74 KB

Self-isolation must still be observed by arrivals from all countries where the 14-day cumulative incidence rate exceeds 50 per 100 000 inhabitants. For the past three weeks, arrivals from all European countries, with the formal exception of the Vatican, had to observe self-isolation.

This week, Iceland has made the white list with a cumulative incidence rate of 45.7. This means arrivals from Iceland are not required to observe 10-day self-isolation.

Other countries outside Europe which are also on the white list are Uruguay, Japan, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, New Zealand, Australia, and Thailand.



International passenger transport is allowed only to European countries where the cumulative incidence rate does not exceed twice the EU average.

The list and requirements of self-isolation comes into force on November 28 at midnight. Prohibition of passenger transportation comes into force on the third day after the list is published i.e. November 30.

The full list of countries is available at the SPKC website, in English, Latvian and Russian, along with advice on how to follow the self-isolation rules and the conditions applying to all persons, be they Latvian nationals or other nationalities.

We have also attached the list in PDF format to this story for your convenience.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor


Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue