Latvia-Russia border demarcation comes into force

21 April 2018 sees the coming into force of documents that permanently demarcate the border between Latvia and Russia, the Ministry of Foreign Affairs said in a release.

"The eight-year-long process of demarcation of the common border between the two countries has come to an end," the ministry said, adding that it "evaluates positively the cooperation between Latvian and Russian experts in the demarcation process."

The Joint Latvia-Russia Demarcation Commission was established under Article 5 of the Treaty between Latvia and the Russian Federation on the State Border of Latvia and Russia signed in Moscow on 27 March 2007.

The first meeting of the Commission took place in Daugavpils on 23 September 2009. The border demarcation documents were signed at the concluding meeting of the Commission held in Riga on 25 October 2017.  The documents were approved by the Government of Latvia on 16 January, and by the Government of the Russian Federation on 21 February 2018.

In the demarcation process, 648 boundary markers were put up at the border extending for 283.6 km, the exact location of the middle line was defined on border rivers, border lines across lakes were determined, and the ownership of islands clarified.

The ministry also provided the graphic below explaining the process of demarcation.

Latvia-Russia border demarcation
Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles