Ijabs takes 'vice-president' position in EP group

One of Latvia's nine Members of the European Parliament, Ivars Ijabs ("For Latvia's Development") was elected a vice-president of the liberal-centric political group "Renew Europe" in a closed vote June 26.

Valerie Hayer was unanimously elected as the president of Renew Europe, while Ijabs will be one of no fewer than eight vice-presidents, including Billy Kelleher who is 'first vice-president', creating the group's pecking-order.

The liberal-centric political group Renew Europe currently unites 75 MEPs and it forms part of the centrist majority in the European Parliament. It includes five deputies from Latvia (1), Lithuania (2) and Estonia (2) dubbed the "Baltic Group" to represent common interests and coordinate actions.

The first plenary session of the new term of the European Parliament will be held on July 17. There are 720 MEPs in total.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important