Former ministers return to parliament chairs

With the approval of the new government, the composition of the 14th Saeima is also changing as of September 20. Several former ministers have returned to work in Parliament, but the mandate of the Saeima deputy was lost by politicians approved for ministerial posts.

The mandate of the Saeima deputy was renewed on Wednesday, September 20, for four politicians of the National Alliance: Ilze Indriksone, Jānis Vitenbergs, Ināra Murniece and Nauris Puntulis. Normunds Dzintars, Arnolds Jātnieks, Ģirts Lapiņš and Jurģis Klotiņš, who were in the parliament while the former four were in ministerial posts, have subsequently lost their seats.

Three former ministers from the United List – Didzis Šmits, Māris Kučinskis, and Māris Sprindžuks – will also sit in the chairs of Saeima. Consequently, mandates were lost by Ieva Brante, Edgars Putra, and Andrejs Svilāns respectively.

The mandate of the Saeima deputy was also renewed for Raimonds Čudars (New Unity). Viktorija Baire was appointed in his place and therefore loses her mandate but will return again as Hosams Abu Meri (New Unity) is taking office as Health Minister.

Čudars could also replace Abu Meri as head of the Submissions Committee, Latvian Television reports.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important