Six schools to close this year

Six schools will be closed and 12 education institutions reorganized this year, according to information by the Education Ministry.

The schools being closed are Mezotne boarding school, Daukste primary school, Zeleki primary school, Marklane primary school, Jurkalne primary school, and the Lielplatone branch of Eleja high school, reported LSM's Latvian-language service.

The schools are attended by less than 60 pupils each. 

Twelve more schools will be reorganized in the 2016/2017 academic year, with most being merged with others. 

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Education and Science

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue