Twelve municipalities to have additional rules imposed

This week in Daugavpils, Baldone, Krāslava, Salacgrīva, Aknīste, Varakļāni, Mārupe, Mālpils, Smiltene, Garkalne, Limbaži and Salaspils, the government will introduce more restrictive measures due to the spread of COVID-19, the government decided at an emergency meeting on Tuesday November 24.

In these regions, starting November 27:

  • pupils of grades 5-12 will learn remotely;
  • vocational and higher education will be remote;
  • professional development/adult education courses and classes will not take place;
  • hairdressers will not be allowed to work;
  • museums and other cultural venues will not open;
  • amateur sports can only take place outdoors;
  • no private events may take place except funerals.

City public transportation fill must not exceed 50% capacity, whereas stores and other indoor service locations may not exceed 20% of the maximum possible number of people in-store at the same time. 

It is planned that in future the Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (SPKC) will publish a list of municipalities where, according to the previous week's rates, COVID-19 prevalence exceeds the average in the country On the other hand, restrictions on municipalities will have to take effect Thursday of the same week or earlier.


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles
Most important