Constitutional Court president Osipova named European of the Year in Latvia

Take note – story published 2 years ago

President of the Constitutional Court Sanita Osipova was named European of the Year 2020 in Latvia December 28 in a remote ceremony by the Non-Governmental Organization European Movement in Latvia.

The title of the European of the Year in Latvia is awarded to the person who has provided the most significant contribution to strengthening links between Latvia and the rest of Europe, raising Latvia's profile in Europe and integrating European values in Latvia.

President of the European Movement in Latvia, Andris Gobiņš, said: "Voters this year have chosen what Sanita Osipova has done: reminding and explaining values, strengthening of our constitution, and highlighting respect as a basic value."

The three finalists shortlisted for the European of the Year 2020 title also included Prime Minister Krišjānis Kariņš and youth leader Natālija Knipše.

The title European of the Year has been awarded for the 23rd time. Prominent people from different sectors hold the title, including former President Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga, singers Renārs Kaupers and Marija Naumova, EU Development Commissionner Andris Piebalgs, and others.

The choice is made by public online vote.


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important