Topics Topics

Arrivals from all EU countries must observe self-isolation

The Disease Prevention and Control Center (SPKC) revised their guidelines December 4 regarding countries upon arrival from which self-isolation must be observed.

It is recommended to seriously evaluate the need to go abroad in order not to increase risks of contracting COVID-19.




167.86 KB

Self-isolation must still be observed by arrivals from all countries where the 14-day cumulative incidence rate exceeds 50 per 100 000 inhabitants. Last week, self-isolation applied to all European countries but Iceland. 

This week, arrivals from all European countries, with the formal exception of the Vatican, have to observe self-isolation.



Countries outside Europe which are on the 'white list' and do not require self-isolation are Japan, South Korea, Rwanda, Singapore, New Zealand, Australia, and Thailand.

International passenger transport is allowed only to European countries where the cumulative incidence rate does not exceed twice the EU average. This week  passenger transport is prohibited to five countries, including neighboring Lithuania.

The list and requirements of self-isolation comes into force on December 5 at midnight. Prohibition of passenger transportation comes into force on the third day after the list is published, i.e. December 7.

The full list of countries is available at the SPKC website, in English, Latvian and Russian, along with advice on how to follow the self-isolation rules and the conditions applying to all persons, be they Latvian nationals or other nationalities.

We have also attached the list in PDF format to this story for your convenience.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue