This year's Eurovision hopefuls revealed!

The names of the performers fighting it out in a battle royale to become Latvia's 2020 Eurovision entry have been released to the general public.

Thankfully this year there will be only one 'Supernova' show, to be broadcast on February 8, after last year's 'two-semis-and-then-a-final' format stretched the attractions of repeatedly listening to Eurovision type songs well beyond the limits of human endurance.

The prize for the winner will be a ticket to the 65th International Eurovision Song Contest in Rotterdam, the Netherlands.

There is also a major overhaul of the judging procedure. Though 26 songs are on the long list released January 9, the all-powerful jury will choose 8 songs to compete in the final, at which point the public will get to vote. Before that all the songs will be available on a dedicated YouTube channel, with the judges supposed to take their apparent popularity there into account when making their selections. The eight songs for the Supernova final will be announced in one week's time on January 16.

“Television viewers will only be actively involved in the evaluation of the songs by voting in the live broadcast of the final. Eight final songs will be chosen by the jury, also considering how the songs will be judged by the audience on the YouTube platform,” said Ilze Jansone, producer of Supernova 2020. Eight final songs will be announced in a week - January 16th.

This year's Supernova competition received a record number of 126 songs. The 26 songs on the long list (in random order) are listed below.

Many of the performers are already familiar faces from previous Eurovision efforts, including hardy perennials Markus Riva and Samanta Tina, but there are also acts the public will not have seen before.

You can follow the latest news on the Supernova website.

Supernova 2020 entrants

Elizabeth Gaile " For You"

Liva "Not That Important To You"

Annemarija Moiseja "Undo"

Celeste "Like Me"

Rūta Ķergalve “Izgaismots

Laika Upe “All My Roads

Audiokvartāls “Connection

Toms Kalderauskis “Be My Truth

Markus Riva “Impossible” 

Katrīna Bindere “I Will Break Your Heart

Shanti “Voices In My Mind

Madara “Māras zeme

Samanta Tīna “Still Breathing

Sabīne Blūma-Blūmane “Beauty Will Save The World

Maia “Make It Real

Edgars Kreilis “Tridymite

Katrīna Dimanta “Heart Beats

Antra Stafecka un Atis Ieviņš “Coming Over

Aivo Oskis “Dive Deep

Bad Habits “Sail With You

ANNNA “Polyester

Alise Haijima “Me Me Song


Miks Dukurs “I’m Falling For You

Alekss Silvers "Again"

Signe and Janis “Inner Light


You can follow the latest news on the special Supernova website .

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles
Most important

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue