Grand Music Awards presented

Take note – story published 9 years and 2 months ago

The Grand Music Awards 2014 ceremony for Latvia’s supreme state prizes in music took place for the 22nd time Tuesday night at the National Opera (LNO).

The other winners announced tonight out of 24 total nominee events and/or persons:

European-level music event in Latvia – 'Bach. Passia. Riga' last April at the Riga Dom, St.Peter’s and St.John’s churches

Concert of the Year – solo concert by Inga Kalna 'Bel canto' in May at the LNO

Production of the Year – opera 'Mihails and Mihails Play Chess’ by Kristaps Pētersons at the LNO

Outstanding Performance – Egils Siliņš singing Mendelsohn-Bartoldi's oratorio ‘Elija’

Outstanding Interpretation – cellist Sola Gabeta solo part in Peteris Vasks’ 2nd Cello Concerto 'Presence' premiere at the Great Guild Hall in October

Outstanding Work in an Ensemble – organist Kristīne Adamaite

New Work of the Year – Andris Dzenītis ‘E[GO]’, concert for saxophone and orchestra premiered at Great Guild Hall with Arvīds Kazlausks (saxophone) and the National Symphony Orchestra

New Artist of the Year – percussionist Jānis Bombizo-Fedotovs

DNB Bank special award For Nurturing Talent – Pedagogue, conductor and composer Jānis Kaijaks

Public Favorite Prize – Kaspars Ādamsons

The Grand Music Award (LMB) is the “supreme Latvian state award” in music, a tradition established in 1993 to “mark each year’s major achievements in the concert life of our country.” The awards selection and ceremony are organized by the Ministry of Culture together with concert organizer Latvijas koncerti.

As reported, conductor Mariss Jansons was honored for his lifetime of achievements in Latvia’s musical life.

Jansons' received his most recent distinction – the "Commandeur des Arts et des Lettres" order in France in February. The purpose of the prestigious national prize is the recognition of significant contributions to the arts, literature, or the propagation of these fields. The Order of Arts and Letters was established on May 2, 1957 by the Ministry of Culture of France.

Jansons received the prize for a notable concert with the Netherlands’ Royal Concertgebouw orchestra in the new concert hall "Philharmonie de Paris", the latest masterpiece of world-famous architect Jean Nouvel. The Latvian conductor was awarded and congratulated by the president of the concert hall Laurent Bayle on behalf of the French Minister of Culture and Communication.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important