'Baltic Bubble' travel zone will come into force on May 15

Take note – story published 4 years ago

As of May 15, travel will be possible across the three Baltic States, but the inhabitants of other countries must initially comply with 14-day quarantine, said Health Minister Ilze Viņķele ("Development/For") to Latvian Television.

On Monday, May 11, in an online discussion among the Health Ministers from the Baltic States, conditions on travel across Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia were determined, regarding both inhabitants of the Baltic States and outside. 

"For inhabitants of the Baltic States, travel across the three countries will be possible without quarantine. On the other hand, those who enter the states from other countries will have to comply with 14-day quarantine," said the Health Minister.

"It is allowed to travel to our neighboring states as of May 15; however, people must ask themselves whether it really is necessary."

Ministers also agreed that upon entering the Baltic States, travelers will receive information from mobile operators on conditions to be met.

Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs confirmed May 12 that a Memorandum of Understanding on the new "Baltic bubble" travel zone will be signed in Rīga on May 15.

The Prime Ministers of Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania have agreed to open internal borders on May 15. The tourism sector has welcomed the announcement that it would be possible to take trips within the Baltic States and to assemble up to 25 people.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important