Most Central and Eastern European Presidents condemn Russia

Take note – story published 1 year and 8 months ago

Latvian President Egils Levits is one of the signatories of a joint statement by heads of state in central and eastern Europe that condemns Russia's ongoing crimes in Ukraine. It is reproduced in full below.

We, Presidents of Central and Eastern Europe, countries whose leaders have visited Kyiv during the war and witnessed with their own eyes the effects of Russian aggression, cannot stay silent in the face of the blatant violation of international law by the Russian Federation, and therefore are issuing the following statement:

We reiterate our support for the sovereignty and territorial integrity of Ukraine. We do not recognize and will never recognize Russian attempts to annex any Ukrainian territory.

We firmly stand behind the 2008 Bucharest NATO Summit decision concerning Ukraine’s future membership.

We support Ukraine in its defence against Russia's invasion, demand Russia to immediately withdraw from all the occupied territories and encourage all Allies to substantially increase their military aid to Ukraine.

All those who commit crimes of aggression must be held accountable and brought to justice.

The statement is signed by the presidents of the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, North Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, and Slovakia. Notably it is not signed by the presidents of Hungary or Bulgaria despite both countries being EU and NATO member states.


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important