Estonia added to Latvia's quarantine country list

Take note – story published 3 years ago

Estonia, Latvia's northern neighbor, has been added to the list of countries from which arrivals into Latvia must self-isolate for 14 days.

The news came from the Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (SPKC) on Friday evening in its weekly update of the country list, with Estonia (Igaunija in Latvian) included.

The full list of countries can be viewed on the website of the Latvian Centre for Disease Prevention and Control

If the country is marked in red or yellow, a person must self-isolate for a period of 14 days upon arrival in Latvia. The measures come into force on Saturday, 12 September.

The current threshold for Latvia for arrivals is 16 cases per 100,000 of population cumulatively over the previous 14 days. According to the latest data from the European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control, Estonia now has a figure of 20.8 cases.

Lithuania remains unrestricted, with a figure of 15.6 cases. Latvia has 4.3 cases, one of the lowest rates in the world.

During self-isolation people must:

  • stay in the place of self-isolation, do not expose other persons to the risk of being infected, do not have direct contact with others (do not welcome guests, do not visit others, do not go to work and public places where a large number of people pass through, except for visiting a store and reaching your place of residence or another place of stay immediately after entering Latvia).  Use a protective cover for your mouth and nose;
  • monitor your health, measure your body temperature in the morning and at night;
  • if you have a cough, a elevated body temperature (fever), loss of breath, contact a medical professional immediately;
  • other members of your household can continue their daily activities.

To get a COVID-19 test, call 8303 on weekdays from 8 AM to 8 PM, on Saturdays from 9 AM to 3 PM and on Sundays from 9 AM to 12 PM.

You still have to self-isolate for 14 days, even if you've taken the Covid-19 test.

LTV reported September 11 that Estonia and Lithuania have decided to raise their own COVID-19 limits to 25 cases, but the Latvian government has decided not to follow suit. However, special arrangements are being made for residents of the twin border towns of Valka/Valga where residents will not have to undergo 14 days of self-isolation provided they do not venture beyond city limits.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important