Latvia may face court action over asylum rules

Take note – story published 8 years ago

The European Commission has opened a total of 32 infringement proceedings against 18 member states, including Latvia, on how they apply EU-level asylum rules, the EU observer online newspaper reported Wednesday.

Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Malta, Poland, Portugal, Slovenia, Spain, and Sweden are all under Commission scrutiny for various violations which may result in a litigation at the European Court of Justice.

Latvian Prime Minister Laimdota Straujuma, when speaking to the press after the meeting with Latvian President Raimonds Vejonis on Wednesday, admitted that the Interior Ministry had informed her about the infringement procedure.

She said the European Commission had suggested that Latvia should improve its asylum laws.

"We can consider this. The parliament will be back from the summer recess in September and then the legislative changes could be discussed,” Straujuma said, adding that she was waiting for a report from the Interior Ministry on the subject.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important