More than 2,000 Ukrainians found refuge in Latvia in July

Take note – story published 1 year ago

In July 2022, among the EU Member States for which data are available, Poland granted the highest number of temporary protection statuses to Ukrainians fleeing Ukraine (57 290) as a consequence of Russia’s invasion. Poland was followed by Italy (11 020), Romania (7 395), Bulgaria (6 465) and Spain (6 305), according to latest Eurostat figures.

Latvia gave protection to 2 105 Ukrainian refugees in July according to the Eurostat data, down on the peak of more than 12 000 in March.

Compared with June 2022, the number of Ukrainians receiving temporary protection fell in 19 of the 22 EU Member States with available data. The largest decreases were observed in Italy (-12 170 people compared with June 2022), followed by Spain (-4 910), Denmark (-3 330), Romania (-2 965), Hungary (-2 855) and Poland (-2 835).

Meanwhile, the only increases were recorded in Sweden (+405), Estonia (+160) and Slovenia (+30). 

The highest ratio of Ukrainian citizens granted temporary protection in July 2022 was recorded in Estonia (2.0 granted temporary protection per thousand inhabitants), followed by Poland (1.5), Lithuania (1.3), Ireland and Latvia (both 1.1).

Ukrainian refugees stats
Ukrainian refugees stats

In all countries for which July 2022 data are available, children below the age of 14 represented more than two-thirds of all children granted temporary protection. 

Based on the available data as of 31st July 2022, Poland had a total of 1.3 million Ukrainians receiving temporary protection. Italy (142 330 Ukrainian beneficiaries), Spain (131 705), Bulgaria (125 275), Slovakia (82 995), Austria (73 785) and France (69 190) were the other Member States with the highest total numbers of Ukrainian beneficiaries of temporary protection. 

For Latvia the total is 31,620 Ukrainian refugees since March.

It should be noted that the figures come with some notable caveats, such as the fact that data for July were not available for Czechia, Germany, Cyprus and the Netherlands. 

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important