Vote for your Latvian European of the Year

Take note – story published 2 years ago

Members of the public are being asked to vote in the annual Latvian European of the Year poll.

A top ten list of nominated individuals has been published by the European Movement – Latvia, but it is also possible to nominate your own candidate. Whichever name you go for, you will also be asked to provide a reason for your support (in Latvian).


"The title of EUROPEAN OF THE YEAR IN LATVIA is awarded to a person who has made a significant contribution to strengthening the common European values ​​in Latvia and promoting the name of Latvia in Europe," say organizers.

The European Movement – Latvia was founded in 1997, and is an NGO working in the political sphere. The EML is a member of the European Movement International.

The winner of the annual title is determined in a public vote, which will run until December 9, with the winner announced on December 28. Previous winners have included Sanita Osipova, the Chairperson of the Constitutional Court, former President Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga, singers Renārs Kaupers, Marija Naumova and Ralfs Eilands, former EU Development Commissionner Andris Piebalgs, Catholic Archbishop Zbignevs Stankevics, and Ilmārs Poikans, a researcher who exposed the questionable financial dealings of various high-profile figures under the pseudonym 'Neo'.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important