Film industry hands out annual awards

Take note – story published 7 years ago

During the Lielais Kristaps film festival's award ceremony on October 12, director Renars Vimba's feature film Mellow Mud and Vitaly Mansky's Under the Sun carried off the main awards.

Three films competed for the Best Feature Film award - Laila Pakalnina's Dawn, Vimba's Mellow Mud and Davis Simanis' Exiled with Mellow Mud carrying the day (the Latvian title is actually Es esmu šeit or 'I am here').

Ulrich Matthes won the Best Actor award for his role in Exiled, while the Best Actress award went to Elina Vaska for her role in Mellow Mud.

Pakalnina won the Best Director award for the Dawn, while Mansky was honored as the best documentary film director.

Karlis Vitols' Minotaur won the Best Animated Film award, while Madara Dislere's Gardener was named the Best Short Film.

Adriana Roze's Riga Gentlemen won the Best Short Documentary award, and Liene Lavina-Kalnaella's Till the End of the Scene - the Best Debut award.

The annual film festival Lielais Kristaps was first organized in 1977, and this year the awards were presented for the 28th time. They are the closest Latvia gets to its own Academy Awards.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important