Latvia's Eurovision hopefuls for 2019 revealed

Take note – story published 5 years and 6 months ago

It's time for Eurovision fans to rejoice and everyone else to look away and find something else to talk about - for the names of the next batch of Latvian "Supernova" hopefuls have been released into the public sphere.

16 acts have survived the initial cull perpetrated by the jury, who were originally presented with 33 acts to assess and, if deemed necessary, send packing.

Those who survived will now battle it out in two semi finals and a final to decide who will be the Latvian representative at the 64th Eurovision song contest to take place next year in Tel Aviv, Israel. They are:

  • Samanta Tīna
  • Markus Riva
  • Elza Rozentāle
  • Edgars Kreilis
  • Adriana Miglāne
  • “Double Faced Eels”
  • “Dziļi Violets feat. Kozmens”
  • “Laime Pilnīga”
  • “Laika Upe”
  • “Carousel”
  • “Kris & Oz”
  • Kristiāna Bumbiere
  • Alekss Silvērs
  • Aivo Oskis
  • Kristīne Pastare (Peress)
  • Līga Rīdere

The selection of artistes features several incredibly familiar faces such as Samanta Tina and Markus Riva, whose dedication to pursuing a Eurovision ticket knows no bounds and who have once again placed themselves in the line of fire as they seek Eurovision glory.

If you want to familiarize yourself with some of the songs that will no doubt become all-too-familiar over coming months, you can do so below. The exact dates of the Supernova shows are yet to be confirmed, but will take place in the first quarter of 2019, with the international competition taking place May 14-18 in Israel.
Carousel “That Night” (Mārcis Vasiļevskis / Sabīne Žuga)

Aivo Oskis "Somebody's got my lover" (Mūzika: Ruslans Kuksinovičs. Vārdi: Aivis Oskis. Producents: Ruslans Kuksinovičs)


Dziļi Violets feat. Kozmens "Tautasdziesma" (Mūzika: Dziļi Violets Vārdi: Nauris Brikmanis, Jānis Skutelis, Mārtiņš Kozlovskis Producents: Didzis Bardovskis)

Laime pilnīga "Awe" (Ervīns Ramiņš, Mārcis Vasiļevskis, Elvijs Mamedovs, Jānis Olekšs)

Samanta Tīna "Cutting the wire" (Music: Arnis Račinskis, Lisbee Stainton, Samanta Tīna. Wordsi: Lisbee Stainton, Arnis Račinskis, Samanta Tīna. Producer: Arnis Račinskis)

Markus Riva “You make me so crazy” (Music: Markus Riva, Roman Nepomiashchyi. Words: Markus Riva. Producer: Roman Nepomiashchyi)

Adriana Miglāne "Scared of love" (Music: Jānis Driksna, Monta Ķimene. Words: Jānis Driksna, Monta Ķimene. Producer: Kaspars Ansons)

Double Faced Eels "Fire" (Music: Mārtiņš Gailītis, Reinis Straume. Words: Reinis Straume. Producer: Mārtiņš Gailītis)

Elza Rozentāle "You came on tiptoe" (Music: Māra Upmane- Holšteine, Mārtiņš Gailītis, Jānis Niedra, Elza Rozentāle. Words: Māra Upmane-Holšteine, Reinis Straume, Jānis Niedra, Elza Rozentāle. Producer: Mārtiņš Gailītis)

Edgars Kreilis "Fire" (Music: Edgars Kreilis, Jūlijs Melngailis, Arnis Račinskis. Vārdi: Jūlijs Melngailis, Arnis Račinskis. Producer: Arnis Račinskis)

Kristiāna Bumbiere "Remedy” (Music: Kristiāna Bumbiere. Words: Kristiāna Bumbiere. Producers: Kristaps Bumbieris, Mārtiņš Gailītis)

Laika upe "Listen to the way that I breathe" (Armands Varslavāns / Annemarija Linka)

Kristīne Pastare (Peress) "Smaragdi un pelni" (Music: Kristīne Pastare. Words: Kristīne Pastare, Ieva Katkovska, Iluta Alsberga. Producer: Reinis Sējāns)

Alekss Silvērs "Fireworks" (Music: Aminata Savadogo. Words: Aminata Savadogo. Producer: Kaspars Ansons)

Līga Rīdere "Būšu tepat" (Music: Arnis Ieviņš Words: Līga Rīdere. Producers: Vitholds Smolders, Ritvars Šreibers, Ģirts Laumanis)

Kris & Oz "Midnight streets" (Music: Artūrs Osipovs, Kristīna Morins, Aleksandrs Solovjovs. Words: Artūrs Osipovs. Producer: Aleksandrs Solovjovs)


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important