Four Latvian authors shortlisted for EU Prize for Literature

Take note – story published 2 years ago

On April 15, the European Union Prize for Literature announced the prize shortlist, according to the official website.

Fifty-five authors from fourteen countries made it on the list, including four Latvian writers: 

  • Jana Egle, Dzimšanas diena (Birthday), publisher: Latvijas Mediji
  • Laura Vinogradova, Upe (The River), publisher: Zvaigzne ABC Publishers
  • Rasa Bugavičute-Pēce, Puika, kurš redzēja tumsā (The Boy Who Could See in the Dark), publisher: Latvijas Mediji
  • Svens Kuzmins, Hohma (Hokhmah), publisher: Dienas Grāmata

The European Union Prize for Literature (EUPL) recognizes emerging fiction writers from across Europe. The award includes 41 countries which are part of the Creative Europe program – an initiative aiming to strengthen Europe’s cultural and creative sectors. The EUPL was launched in 2009, and since then recognized 135 winning authors through 12 editions. Each year, the EUPL awards one winner per country from a third of participating countries. This year's edition will award winners from 14 countries: Albania, Armenia, Bulgaria, Czech Republic, Iceland, Latvia, Malta, Moldova, the Netherlands, Portugal, Serbia, Slovenia, Sweden, Tunisia.

The winners of the EUPL 2021 edition will be announced on 18 May in a digital event. 


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important