Luxembourg to stand in for Latvia’s Presidency at EU nukes agency

Latvia must ask its fellow EU Council Presidency Trio member Luxembourg to assume the responsibilities of the EU presiding country in the work formats of the Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) during its Presidency of the Council of the EU because Latvia is not a member of the NEA.

The Latvian government ruled Tuesday that the Ministry for Environmental Protection and Regional Development (VARAM) in cooperation with the Latvian Permanent Representation to the European Union (EU) should ask Luxembourg to step in for the Latvian Presidency in the NEA work formats.

It is the responsibility of the EU presiding country to organize coordination meetings of the EU member states ahead of the NEA meetings, but Latvia is not a member of the NEA, therefore it is impossible for VARAM to perform this responsibility.

The Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA) is a specialized agency within the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD. Its mission is to assist member countries in maintaining and further developing, through international co-operation, the scientific, technological and legal bases required for a safe, environmentally friendly and economical use of nuclear energy for peaceful purposes.

The NEA members are 31 countries in Europe, North America and the Asia-Pacific region, together accounting for approximately 86 percent of the world's installed nuclear capacity. 

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Most important

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue