Media watchdog governing body elected

On January 27, the Saeima elected new members of the National Electronic Mass Media Council (NEPLP) – Ivars Āboliņš, Aurēlija Ieva Druviete, Ilva Milzarāja and Andis Plakans.

Āboliņš was the former president of NEPLP, while Druviete took the post of vice-president of NEPLP. Milzarāja is a former director of the Latvian Radio 5 and Plakans is a member of the board of the NT Adventures Ltd and a former Latvian Radio sound engineer.

According to the Electronic Media Law, the candidate should be a Latvian citizen with higher education, professional or academic experience in the fields of media, education, culture, science or human rights.

The Law also provides that a candidate cannot be associated with any political parties, electronic media capital shares, or criminal activity. 

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Most important

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue