Latvia will have one more MEP next term

Latvia will have nine seats in the next European Parliament (EP) instead of eight, the EP Constitutional Affairs Committee decided on Monday, June 12. The vote on this decision is scheduled for Thursday at the plenary session in Strasbourg.

In its documents adopted on Monday evening, the Committee proposed to increase the number of MEPs' seats by 11, dividing them between nine Member States to reflect demographic changes in the European Union (EU).

Two of these seats will be allocated to Spain, two more to the Netherlands and one to Austria, Denmark, Finland, Slovakia, Ireland, Slovenia, and Latvia.

The draft report highlights the need for rapid action to allow Member States to make the necessary changes at the national level before the EP elections next year.

The draft proposal for a European Council decision was adopted by 15 votes to eight, with five abstentions. The draft resolution accompanying this proposal was adopted by 16 votes to 10, with two abstentions.

The draft report will be submitted to the plenary vote in Strasbourg on Thursday.

Every five years before the next EP elections, the EP proposes a distribution of seats among Member States, based on the principles set out in the EU Treaties and in line with the latest figures on population numbers.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important