Baltics requested to close consulates in Russia

Take note – story published 2 years and 2 months ago

Russia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs announced April 21 that Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia should close their consulates in St. Petersburg and Pskov.

Ambassadors of the Baltic States were summoned to Russia's Ministry of Foreign Affairs on Thursday, where they were notified of a request to close their consulate in Russia. The requirement applies to the consulates of Latvia, Lithuania, and Estonia in St. Petersburg, as well as to the consulates of Latvia and Estonia in Pskov.

Moscow explains its decision as a response to the closure of the Russian consulates in the Baltic States, as well as a response to the military aid provided by these countries for the “Kyiv regime” and support for “Ukrainian nationalist crimes against the civilian populations of Donbas and Ukraine”.

The consulates' management and employees have been declared personae non gratae in the territory of Russia.

The Baltic States previously decided to close the Russian Consulate General in Liepāja, Daugavpils, Klaipeda, Narva and Tartu to protest the Russian invasion of Ukraine.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important