Latvia expels three Russian diplomats

Take note – story published 2 years and 2 months ago

Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs declared three Russian diplomats personae non gratae in Latvia on March 18, according to a release by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.


The Ministry's statement is reproduced verbatim below.

"On March 18, 2022, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Latvia, Edgars Rinkēvičs, passed a decision declaring three staff members of the Embassy of the Russian Federation to be personae non gratae in the Republic of Latvia. Current activities of those persons under diplomatic cover are incompatible with their diplomatic status and are causing detriment to the Republic of Latvia.

The Foreign Minister’s decision was taken in solidarity with Ukraine in its fight against the unprovoked and unjustified military aggression by Russia against Ukraine, with members of security services of the Russian Federation having played an important role in the planning and implementation of that aggression.

Latvia strongly condemns the invasion of Ukraine by the Russian Federation and reiterates the demand that Russia’s military aggression be immediately stopped, as well as abiding by the ruling of the United Nations International Court of Justice of 16 March 2022 on this matter, and returning to compliance with international rules.

The decision has been notified to the Ambassador of the Russian Federation to Latvia, Mikhail Vanin, today, and the persons subject to expulsion must leave the Republic of Latvia by 23:59 on 23 March."

Estonia and Lithuania announced similar measures with Estonia expelling three diplomatic staff members and Lithuania four.



Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important