Latvia, Lithuania visa cooperation extended

Take note – story published 7 years ago

An existing agreement between Latvia and Lithuania allowing embassies of each country to issue short-stay visas for the other has been extended with several new locations joining the list of offices included. 

"Amendments to the Agreement between the Republic of Latvia and the Republic of Lithuania on mutual representation for the issuance of visas will come into effect as of 1 June 2017, adding new locations," said a statement from the Latvian Foreign Ministry.

Lithuania, in addition to the current location of visa representation in Yerevan (Armenia), will also issue short-stay visas for Latvia at the Lithuanian Consulate General in Grodno (Belarus) to the residents of Grodno region and at the Consulate General of Lithuania in Chicago (the United States of America).

Latvia, in turn, in addition to the current visa representation in Tashkent (Uzbekistan) will issue visas on behalf of Lithuania at the Latvian Consulate in Vitebsk (Belarus).

Latvia has currently signed representation agreements on the issuance of visas with 14 Schengen member countries: Austria, Belgium, Estonia, France, Germany, Hungary, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Poland, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

When the amendments take effect, the said countries will issue Schengen visas for travel to Latvia in 94 different locations across the world. Latvia in turn represents twelve Schengen countries at nine different locations.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important