Latvia sanctions 101 more Belarus officials

Take note – story published 3 years and 7 months ago

Based on the decision of the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Latvia, as well as in coordination with the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of Estonia and Lithuania, Latvian Foreign Minister Edgars Rinkēvičs on September 25 announced the imposition of an indefinite entry ban on 101 Belarusian officials.

The persons sanctioned form part of the regime of self-declared but unrecognized president Alexander Lukashenko from the Ministry of Communications and Information, State National Television and Radio, Ministry of Emergency Situations, Prosecutor General's Office, Supreme Court, Constitutional Court, Central Election Commission, Minsk Election Commission, Belarusian regional and local government.

"The Belarusian authorities have not changed their attitude towards peaceful protests. Demonstrations continue to be discredited, disproportionate force is being used, blocking of independent media websites is intensifying, criminal cases are being prosecuted and data carriers are being interfered with," said a statement accompanying the list.

"Those listed have organized and supported the falsification of the presidential elections of 9 August 2020 and the subsequent violent repression of peaceful protests and arrests, restricted the work of the independent media, and supported the dissemination of disinformation in the Belarusian media," the statement said.

The decision of the Minister has been made in accordance with Section 61, Paragraph two of the Immigration Law.

The list of sanctionees is available at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs website and is reprodiced at the end of this story. However, staunch Lukashenko loyalist Foreign Minister Vladimir Makei remains off the list.

On August 30 Latvia announced initial sanctions against 30 individuals including Lukashenko himself, as reported by LSM.

On Friday Estonia announced sanctions against 95 persons and Lithuania also said it was "significantly increasing" the number of people on its own blacklist. The Baltic states are strengthening their individual measures after the European Union failed to agree on a bloc-wide approach earlier in the week.

Also September 25 Latvia signed a statement along with other democratic countries expressing concern about the latest in countless media crackdowns by Lukashenko over the decades.

"We are alarmed by credible reports that the Belarusian authorities have harassed, severely beaten, detained and revoked the accreditation of journalists and other media workers covering the election campaign and ongoing protests. This crackdown is clearly intended to specifically target journalists and deny people in Belarus the right to freedom of opinion and expression," the statement said.

Latest Latvian list of sanctioned Belarusian individuals
1. Igor Burmistrov
2. Khazalbek Atabekov
3. Andrei Zagorsky
4. Oleg Karazei
5. Vladislav Mandrik
6. Nikolai Gorelikov
7. Leonid Zhuravsky
8. Aleksandr Kisel
9. Aleksei Shakhovich
10. Mikhail Valko
11. Vasili Vasiukovich
12. Dzmitry Kuryan
13. Dmitry Balaba
14. Dmitry Shumilin
15. Vitalyi Osockyi
16. Vitalyi Stasiukevich
17. Viktor Kravcevich
18. Andrei Belenkov
19. Sergey Manaev
20. Sergey Solovey
21. Vadim Prigara
22. Viktor Stanislavchik
23. Sergey Kalinnik
24. Andrei Prihodko
25. Maksim Rusanovich
26. Dmitry Zhmuro
27. Vladimir Romaniuk
28. Pavel Asovik
29. Aleksey Kovalev
30. Andrei Kuntsevich
31. Natalia Eismont
32. Andrei Shved
33. Alexey Konstantinovich Stuk
34. Valentin Sukalo
35. Valeri Kalinkovich
36. Andrei Zabara
37. Zhanna Shkurdiuk
38. Iurii Kobetc
39. Petr Miklashevich
40. Natallia Karpovich
41. Alla Bodak
42. Tatyana Boiko
43. Tadeush Voronovich
44. Stanislav Danilyuk
45. Liliya Kozyreva
46. Olga Sergeeva
47. Anatoly Tikovenko
48. Andrei Pavlyuchenko
49. Konstantin Shulhan
50. Pavel Liohki
51. Yuri Petruchenya
52. Ivan Eismont
53. Aleksandr Shepelev
54. Leonid Jouravski
55. Alexander Vasilev
56. Sergey Kalinovsky
57. Aleksandr Losyakin
58. Marina Rachmanova
59. Alexander Astreiko
60. Anatoli Vasilev
61. Anton Kulak
62. Aleksei Kovrizhkin
63. Yevgeni Savich
64. Aleksandr Yakunchihin
65. Dmitryi Petrusha
66. Olga Neborskaya
67. Ivan Kostiyan
68. Andrei Krivonosov
69. Viktoria Dashkova
70. Aleksey Pinchuk
71. Igor Romanionok
72. Viktorya Shabunia
73. Andrei Chomich
74. Sergey Herashenko
75. Svetlana Vorotynskaya
76. Michail Yurchenko
77. Yekaterina Gruda
78. Dmitriy Vishnevskiy
79. Andrei Lagota
80. Maksim Trusevich
81. Vera Golovkova
82. Aleksei Irshin
83. Aleksandr Voiteshko
84. Yegor Guk
85. Andrei Guz
86. Sergei Semenov
87. Artiom Bagrec
88. Anatoli Sivak
89. Dmitry Shevtsov
90. Oleg Shuliakovsky
91. Andrey Gurzhiy
92. Kiril Yanushonok
93. Valery Zhuk
94. Maksim Rizhenkov
95. Leonid Zajac
96. Aleksandr Turchin
97. Nikolay Sherstnov
98. Genady Solovey
99. Leonid Kruk
100. Sergey Grib
101. Andrey Lilya

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important