More Belarusian officials added to Latvia's entry blacklist

Take note – story published 3 years ago

The Latvian Ministry of Foreign Affairs (MFA) announced November 20 that 26 more Belarusian citizens have been declared persona non grata and are consequently denied entry to Latvia. 

"In line with what was decided by the Cabinet of Ministers of the Republic of Latvia, and in coordination with the Ministries of Foreign Affairs of Estonia and Lithuania, the Minister of Foreign Affairs of Latvia, Edgars Rinkēvičs, has taken the decision to impose an entry ban for an indefinite time on 26 officials of the Republic of Belarus," the MFA said.

The entry ban has been imposed on the Belarusian Minister of Information, the Minister of Sports and Tourism and his deputy, and other representatives and officials for the interior and justice structures, trade unions and the state media involved in dissemination of propaganda. However, Foreign Minister Vladimir Makei remains off the list.

"By their actions, the individuals included on this list have engaged in the organisation and support of the falsification of the 9 August presidential elections and backed the ensuing violent crackdown on peaceful protests and demonstrations," the Latvian MFA said.

The additions mean Latvia has currently imposed an entry ban on 159 individuals including those listed in previous announcements as reported by LSM.

The 26 individuals that have now been entered on the persona non grata list for Latvia are:   

  1. Sergej Kovalchuk
  2. Ihar Lutski
  3. Michail Partny
  4. Roman Kot
  5. Dmitry  Stribulevich
  6. Vyacheslav Sulkovsky
  7. Yevgeny Vaisekhovich
  8. Dmitry Shinkarevich
  9. Yuriy Stahovec
  10. Dmitrij Yunkevich
  11. Maksim Kishkovic
  12. Sergey Hort
  13. Nikalai Karpiankou
  14. Maryja Mazurkevich
  15. Ludmila Dei
  16. Vadzim Dzyanisenka
  17. Vladimir Bazanov
  18. Hryhory (Grigory) Azaronak
  19. Dzmitry Zhuk
  20. Vasily Dementey
  21. Alena Niakrasava
  22. Mikhail Orda
  23. Elena Mankevich
  24. Nikolay Matyukevich
  25. Anna Varfolomeeva
  26. Vladimir Pertsov
Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important