Baltic, Nordic, British officials meet in London

Take note – story published 1 year ago

Prime Minister Krišjānis Kariņš will meet other Baltic and Nordic representatives, as well as the British Prime Minister Boris Johnson, in a summit of the Joint Expeditionary Force (JEF) on March 14 and 15, according to the Cabinet's release on Sunday.

Representatives from the UK, Denmark, Finland, Estonia, Iceland, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Sweden and Norway will discuss the security situation in Europe following the Putin regime's invasion of Ukraine and strengthening bilateral cooperation in defense and economy, energy security and further forms of assistance to Ukraine.

On November 30, 2015, in Great Britain, seven countries – Britain, Denmark, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, and Norway – signed the founding treaty on the creation of the Joint Expeditionary Force. Finland and Sweden joined the initiative in 2017, while Iceland joined it in April 2021.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important