'EU Fund Committee' formed by PM Kariņš

Take note – story published 1 year ago

Prime Minister Krišjānis Kariņš (New Unity) has signed an order this week to set up a Cabinet of Ministers thematic committee on European Union (EU) funds, the State Chancery told the media in a statement on February 23.

The main tasks of the Thematic Committee on the EU Funds is to agree on and monitor the implementation of priority investments and projects, and to evaluate and ensure changes in legislation to remove bureaucratic barriers. The Committee should also consider other issues relevant to EU investment..

The government agreed on forming thematic committees of the Cabinet in mid-January this year.

According to the order, the head of the Thematic Committee on European Union Funds is Finance Minister Arvils Ašeradens (New Unity, JV), while the Minister for Education and Science Anda Čakša (JV), Minister for Climate and Energy Raimonds Čudars (JV), Minister for Economy Ilze Indriksone (National Alliance), Minister for Health Līga Meņģelsone (United List, AS), Minister for Welfare Evika Siliņa (JV), Minister for Environmental Protection and Regional Development Maris Sprindžuks (AS), Minister for Agriculture Didzis Šmits (AS) and Transport Minister Jānis Vitenbergs (NA) were appointed as members.

The first thematic committee of the Cabinet, which was established by the Prime Minister by order, was the Thematic Committee on Civil Protection and Disaster Management under the leadership of the Interior Minister Māris Kučinskis (AS).

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important