Topics Topics

Nine heads of state will visit next year

A meeting of nine heads of state will take place in Riga next year, the LETA newswire reported April 9. 

The informal meeting of the so-called 'Arraiolos' presidents will be organized in Riga in the fall of 2018, the Latvian President’s Chancellery reported.

The Arraiolos Group brings together heads of nine European states: Latvia, Finland, Austria, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Poland, Portugal and Slovenia.

The government on April 2 supported a proposal to increase revenues of the President’s Chancellery by €360,192 in 2018 in order to pay for the Arraiolos group meeting in Riga.

Arraiolos is a small town in Portugal where the first such meeting took place in 2003. Subsequent meetings of non-executive presidents of European Union member states have been dubbed Arraiolos meetings.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles

Please be aware that the LSM portal uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you agree that we may store and use cookies on your device. Find out more

Accept and continue