Latvian government names its 2023 award winners

On Tuesday, October 24, the government supported the awarding of the prestigious Cabinet of Ministers Award to six individuals and organizations for their significant contributions in the fields of national security, science, education, welfare, violence reduction and culture.

The award is the highest honor given out by the Latvian government and the second-highest award after the Order of the Three Stars, which is give out by the President.

In 2023, the Cabinet of Ministers Award will be presented to:

  • Major Jānis Slaidiņš , Chief of the Intelligence Information Collection and Analysis Department of the National Guard's Management and Headquarters;
  • Academician of the Latvian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Chemistry Pavels Arsenjans;
  • Director of the Riga Classical Gymnasium, Romans Alijevs;
  • 'Nāc līdzās!' charity worker Sarma Freiberga;
  • The 'Centrs Marta' organization for preventing violence against women
  • Writer Alberts Bels.

Theprize winners will each receive an Honorary Diploma, a badge and a cash prize of 7,115 euros. The award ceremony will take place at a later date. The Cabinet of Ministers Award was established in 1995 and no more than six awards can be made each year. The recipients are decided by a seven-person jury and confirmed by the Cabinet itself.

The Latvian-language video below gives a history of the awards.


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important