Baltic states agree to open borders to each other from May 15

Take note – story published 3 years ago

Latvian Prime Minister Krišjānis Kariņš announced May 6 that the three Baltic states of Latvia, Estonia and Lithuania plan to open their borders to each other from May 15.

The annoucement came after the latest in a series of video consulations between Kariņš and his Estonian and Lithuanian counterparts and in effect crates a mini-Schengen zone of around 6 million people. Arrivals from outside the Baltic states will have to observe a 14-day quarantine period, as at present.

"The Prime Ministers of the Baltic States agreed that the successful implementation of the measures taken by the Baltic States to limit the spread of Covid-19 is a sufficient basis for the abolition of the control of the internal borders of the Baltic States as of 15 May. Residents of the Baltic States will thus be provided with free movement in the region," a statement from the Cabinet of Ministers said. 

The Foreign Ministers of the Baltic States have been instructed to agree on practical steps to lift restrictions and exchange information on persons entering the Baltic States.

In order to coordinate the co-operation of the Baltic States in the phasing out of the Covid-19 restrictions, a video conference of the Baltic Health Ministers is taking place today, while video conferences of the Baltic Foreign Ministers and Home Affairs Ministers are planned for Friday.


Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important