Eight "soft mandate" MPs sworn in at Saeima

Take note – story published 5 years ago

The Latvian parliament on January 31 swore in eight new MPs who will replace government ministers in parliament with the so-called soft mandate.

The MP mandates have been confirmed for: Jānis Iesalnieks (National Alliance), Andris Kazinovskis, Jānis Cielēns, Jānis Butāns of the New Conservative party, Dace Bluķe and Mārtiņš Šteins from the For Development/For party, as well as Atis Lejiņš (New Unity) and Aivars Geidāns (KPV LV).

They will replace in parliament Minister of Culture Dace Melbārde (National Alliance), Education and Science Minister Ilga Šuplinska (JKP), Justice Minister Jānis Bordāns (JKP), Transport Minister Tālis Linkaits (JKP), Environmental Protection and Regional Development Minister Juris Pūce (For Development/For), Defense Minister Artis Pabriks (For Development/For), Finance Minister Jānis Reirs (New Unity) and Minister of Economics Ralfs Nemiro (KPV LV).

Should any of the ministers step down, the corresponding MPs in the Saeima will lose their soft mandate, with the minister returning to serve at parliament.  

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important