Three parties sign coalition cooperation memorandum

Take note – story published 1 year and 6 months ago

On Thursday, November 3, the next coalition partners New Unity (JV), United List (AS), and National Alliance (NA) signed a memorandum of cooperation, Latvian Television reported.

The memorandum was signed on behalf of the parties by the Chairman of the JV Board, Prime Minister Krisjānis Kariņš, AS co-chairmen Edvards Smiltēns and Edgars Tavars, and NA Board Chairman Raivis Dzintars.

“Let's continue work,” JV leader Krišjānis Kariņš said after signing the memo.

The introduction to the Memorandum states that parties demonstrate their readiness to take responsibility for the development of Latvia and for the well-being of the people, as well as agree on the basic principles for the establishment of the government and the jointly stated objectives of strengthening national security, economic growth and the development of a socially fair, inclusive society in order to ensure effective, stable and professional government work in the public interest up to the end of the term of office of the 14th Saeima.

According to the Memorandum, the basic principles of the next government's action will be proportionality with regard to the representation of parties in the government and decision-making in the Cooperation Meetings, the principle of succession in the development and continuation of reforms undertaken by the previous government, as well as the principle of joint responsibility for the activities of the Prime Minister receiving the Saeima's trust and the Ministers invited by him.

The Memorandum lists the priority objectives to be achieved by the next government and highlights in particular the Coalition's cooperation points in the formation of the government, while committing itself to drawing up a government declaration and action plan, which will expand and extend the priorities mentioned in the Memorandum to cover all relevant work to be done by the next government.

In order to achieve the priority objectives, the parties undertake to improve national governance within existing resources by establishing flexible horizontal cooperation mechanisms. The Memorandum contains a joint commitment by the parties to set up the Ministry of Climate and Energy, which is responsible for the implementation of climate change and energy policy, to identify the Ministry of Economy as responsible for employment policy, to identify the Ministry of Welfare as responsible for child support policy and to identify one responsible ministry for information and communication technology policy.

To view this resource, we need your consent to the use of cookies.
Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important