Security Service has banned 209 persons from Latvia in relation to war

Take note – story published 1 year and 8 months ago

Since the Russian invasion of Ukraine, the State Security Service (VDD), in cooperation with other services, has denied residence in Latvia for a total of 209 persons, the service said October 12.

The VDD pays increased attention not only to Russian citizens, but also to the citizens of Belarus and other foreigners associated with Russia.

When identifying risk persons, the VDD shall, in cooperation with other institutions, take a variety of measures to address potential hazards:

  • the inclusion of persons in the so-called blacklist or list of foreigners for whom entry is prohibited;
  • the ban to enter Latvia by stopping persons on the eastern border of the country;
  • refusal or withdrawal of visas and residence permits; preventive negotiations, etc.

Since the Russian invasion of Ukraine on February 24 this year, the Interior Ministry has put 106 foreigners on the so-called blacklist. 48 of the blacklisted are Russian citizens, 11 are Belarusian citizens, while the other 47 are nationals of other countries.

The information available to the VDD indicated the possible involvement of these persons in the acquisition of intelligence information or the provision of support for the attainment of Russian foreign policy interests. Among blacklisted foreigners are individuals who have expressed support for Russia's expanded aggressive war against Ukraine.

In cases where the person was in the territory of Latvia at the time of inclusion, the State Border Guard has carried out forced removal from the State.

In view of the geopolitical situation, THE VDD, in cooperation with the State Border Guard, continues to strengthen the control of people entering Latvia on the eastern border of the country. So far, on the basis of the risks identified by he VDD, a total of 103 persons have been denied entry to Latvia at the crossing points of the eastern border.

68 of those were Russian citizens, 16 – Belarusian citizens, while the other 19 – nationals of other countries, who support Russian aggression against Ukraine or have carried out activities in line with Russian interests.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important