New municipalities map comes into force July 1

Take note – story published 2 years ago

July 1 sees wide-ranging Administrative Territorial Reform finally taking force, which amounts to a major reorganization of local government administration.

The reform provides that the previous 119 municipalities are now reduced to 43 larger municipalities. The new municipalities have been formed by merging several former municipalities, with each new entity now having its own main regional city.

Representatives of several municipalities were not satisfied with the reform and filed complaints with the Constitutional court. Most of the claims were rejected, except for the decision on the merger of Varaklani region with Rezekne region, Ilukste region with Augsdaugava region and Ozolnieki region with Jelgava region.

Local elections across most of the country in June will decide the shape of the new councils, but elections will still be held in Varaklani region and Rezekne region. Until then, temporary administrations have been appointed in both municipalities.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important