Latvian composer Boriss Rezņiks named “Rigan of the Year”

Take note – story published 4 years and 6 months ago

The Riga City Council “Rigan of the Year 2019” award and certificate was awarded to composer Boriss Rezņiks for the creation of his legendary National Awakening composition “The Baltics Are Waking Up!” (“Atmostas Baltija”), his contribution towards musical development and the promotion of international recognition for Riga, according to press information from Riga City Council.

The award was presented on Monday, November 18 during a Riga City Council celebratory session called in honor of the 101 anniversary of independence for the Republic of Latvia.

“Boriss Rezņiks' audio piece was and remains a hymn to an event which united so many and different people in song and in the hope for a free country. The Baltic Way was a unique and powerful event - a singing revolution. Today in Latvia and in Rīga we lack such personalities and events that can truly unite people regardless of native language, culture, religion or social status,” said Riga City Mayor Oļegs Burovs.

“It's my great honor to present the “Rigan of the Year” award to Borisas Rezņiks. I truly hope that the power and wisdom of music and song will help unify our society and city,” said Mayor Burovs.

The Riga City Council presented certificates and awards to chef Mārtiņš Rītiņš, fashion designer Asnate Smeltere, Rīga Hospital No. 2 Board Chair and Doctor Jānis Petronis. Certificates were also presented to Hermanis Brauns Foundation Director Inna Davidova, and director and screenplay writer Dāvis Sīmanis.

During the celebratory session the Riga City Council and Latvian Science Academy award was also presented to academic Juris Purāns for his research on synchrotron radiation and promoting international recognition of Rīga.

The city council award is open to persons over 18 of any ethnicity who have promoted international recognition of Rīga with their work, attracting attention in society to the Latvian capital.

The “Rigan of the Year” title was previously awarded to opera singer Elīna Garanča, tenis player Aļona Ostapenko, directors Romāns Vanags and Māris Sirmais, maestro Raimonds Pauls, director Alvis Hermanis, ice hockey coach Jūliuss Šuplers, Latvian National Opera Director Andrejs Žagars, artist Džemma Skulme, philanthropists Ināra and Boriss Teterevs, as well as Zaiga and Māris Gailis.

Seen a mistake?

Select text and press Ctrl+Enter to send a suggested correction to the editor

Select text and press Report a mistake to send a suggested correction to the editor

Related articles


Most important